The Genesis Secret – Tom Knox

The Genesis SecretFirst off, some information from Goodreads website on the book. Scroll down for my thoughts. Beware: my review  may contain spoilers.

A gripping high-concept thriller for fans of Dan Brown and Sam Bourne.

In the sunburnt deserts of eastern Turkey, archaeologists are unearthing a stone temple, the world’s most ancient building. When Journalist Rob Luttrell is sent to report on the dig, he is intrigued to learn that someone deliberately buried the site 10,000 years ago. Why?

Meanwhile, in London, a bizarre attack is baffling the police. When a weird killing takes place on the Isle of Man, followed by another in rural Dorset, DC Mark Forrester begins to discern a curious pattern in these apparently random murders.

What weaves together these two stories is the Genesis Secret: a revelation so shocking it may threaten the social structure of the world. Only one man knows the secret, and he is intent on destroying the evidence before it can be uncovered.

Spanning the globe from the ruined castles of Ireland to the desolate wastes of Kurdistan, Tom Knox’s intense and compelling thriller weaves together genuine historical evidence, scientific insights and Biblical mysteries into an electrifying tale that grips the reader mercilessly from beginning to end.

My Review: A British reporter (Rob) is sent to Iraq to interview a German archaeologist who is working on a dig that is supposed to be twelve thousand years old, that might or might not be the Garden of Eden, but the archaeologist is found dead shortly after, so the reporter and a female archaeologist, also working on the dig set out to find out what happened.

Meanwhile in Britain there is a series of murders committed by a group of upper class students. The leader wants something that the Yezidi (one of the ancient cult of religions known as the Cult of Angels) have kept secret. He believes this item was given to a member of the Hellfire Club centuries before and he believes Rob knows where it is.

A thoroughly interesting book  until I got to the part with the sacrifices, I was not expecting such detail of  gruesome techniques of ancient sacrifices, it was a little over the top.

You might want to think twice about letting younger/teens read the book.

Click to read another review from me by the same author Bible of the Dead 

Advertisements

One thought on “The Genesis Secret – Tom Knox

  1. Pingback: Bible of the Dead – Tom Knox |

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s