Bible of the Dead – Tom Knox

Bible of the DeadFirst off, some information from Goodreads website on the book. Scroll down for my thoughts. Beware: my review  may contain spoilers.

A gripping high-concept thriller for fans of Dan Brown and Sam Bourne from the author of The Genesis Secret and The Marks of Cain.

In the silent caves of deepest France, young archaeologist Julia Kerrigan unearths an ancient skull, with a hole bored through the forehead. After she reveals her discovery, her colleague is killed in suspicious circumstances.

Meanwhile, in the jungles of south-east Asia photographer Jake Thurby is offered a curious assignment by a beautiful and determined Cambodian lawyer who is investigating finds at the mysterious 2000-year-old Plain of Jars. Finds which the authorities have gone to great lengths to keep secret. No one knows why.

Back in England, an aged professor has been brutally and elaborately murdered. The murder remains unsolved.

As the archaeologist, lawyer and photographer pursue their separate quests to discover the truth, an underlying pattern begins to emerge, which connects these far-flung events in the most terrifying and unimaginable way. And it soon becomes clear that those who seek to unlock the compelling puzzle will be risking very much more than their lives.

My Review. I love books about religion, travel, mystery so this was high on my to read list and I wasn´t disappointed. This book is based for the majority in Laos, South East Asia and covers a little about the killing fields of the Khmer Rouge  and of the plain of jars. The other parallel story is based in France.

This is a similar style to Genesis Secret although much less gruesome but still with some descriptions of smoke babies and other gruesome events. . I really enjoyed this book, it keep me going and wanting to read it.

Click to read another review by me from the same author The Genesis Secret

Advertisements

One thought on “Bible of the Dead – Tom Knox

  1. Pingback: The Genesis Secret – Tom Knox | A Book Blog from Ecuador

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s