Special Guest Interview – Matthew Keith

I had the pleasure of interviewing  Matthew Keith after reading his superb debut novel called Watchers of the Night. CLICK HERE to see my review of book one and HERE for book two

Matthew Keith1.-What is your hope for your writing in the future?

Watchers is / was my debut novel. With a number of favorable reviews already, first and foremost my plan is to continue the series. I have a storyline up through a trilogy with the intention to allow a continuance past that if the fan base is there.

 I have three other stories in the works, as well – all them in some way or another focus around dreams. One is a little darker, one focuses on the concept of déjà vu, and the last is set in a more fantasy-rich environment.

 2.-How did you come up with the story idea?

 When I was in elementary school I used to go the city library a lot. I lived in town, I could ride my bike there. There was one book that stayed with me – one about a boy could astral travel. It was children’s book, but it really caught my imagination. I remember lying in bed for weeks, gritting my teeth with the effort of finding a way to let my spirit float free of my body.

 When the movie Insidious came out, I took my son to see it. For anyone who hasn’t seen it, it also focuses on a boy who can astral travel. It caught me up in the idea once again. It was shortly after seeing that movie that I began work on Watchers.

 3.-How do you market your books? Which way works best for you?

 Book blogs and reviews as well as Facebook groups that specifically deal with my genre. The best advice I ever received was to ‘know who my target customer’ is. Don’t try paying for ads that speak to masses of people – you’ll never know if any of them would even consider your book, let alone buy it. The internet really offers a great opportunity to market specifically to my segment.

 4.-What genre of books do you like to read?

 Horror, Fantasy, Science Fiction, Mystery, Crime, Historical Fiction – no romance. I know romance is supposed to be the ‘in’ thing right now, but I just can’t get into it.

 5.-What are you working on now?

 Watchers of the Night Book II – Indicium Rising. Lots of suspense, lots of twists, and a couple of new characters that, so far, have been a lot of fun to develop.

 6.-.-What is your blog/website, etc?

 My personal website is www.matthewkeith.net  – I don’t blog. Not yet, anyway. I’m told that blogging is the best way to build your brand and deliver a consistent message, but I have trouble just keeping on Facebook. I work a very full time job to pay the bills, so writing has to be a side-job for now. God willing, some day maybe I will have the ability to turn something I love so much (writing) into a career.watchers of the night

 7.- Where can I find a copy of your book?
Buy Watchers of the Night on Amazon.com

Barnes & Noble,
Goodreads.com,
Kobo,
Sony,
Smashwords – really, just about anywhere online that books are sold. All links will open in a new window or tab.

3 thoughts on “Special Guest Interview – Matthew Keith

  1. Pingback: Watchers of the Night by Matthew Keith | A Book Blog from Ecuador

  2. Pingback: Guest Post on Self publishing by Matthew Keith | A Book Blog from Ecuador

  3. Pingback: Rise of Indicium by Matthew Keith | A Book Blog from Ecuador

Leave a Reply

