Guest Interview – Geoffrey T Hudson

I am honoured to interview this amazing author who has written a stunning debut novel. CLICK HERE to read my review, it is one of the best books I have read this year, and I am not one to rate 5 stars out of 5 very often.

geoffrey t hudsonWhat is your hope for your writing in the future?

 Despite the sense of accomplishment that came with holding the first copy  of The String Theory in my hands, I still consider myself a reluctant writer. That’s not to say that I don’t enjoy writing, I’ve found those solitary late nights when my fingers struggle to keep pace with my thoughts to be almost euphoric.  But for me, writing was never about a grand dream of commercial success. Writing for me is an escape.

 In my “real job” I’m paid to worry, at least that’s what it felt like at times during the past five years. As a portfolio manager I’m often buried in mounds of papers reviewing numbers and statics while trying to make sense of a very complex investment world.  When the perfect storm hit the banking system in 2008 and brought the financial system to its knees I found myself immersed in the day to day perils and opportunities of market dysfunction. Not that I’m complaining, it’s what I’m paid to do and I have the privilege of advising some the nicest people you could ever know.  Even so, being responsible for the financial well-being of others led to many sleepless nights. I desperately needed a distraction.

 The String Theory is the product of a night time ritual I used to turn off thoughts related to the chaos of work.  Imagining the adventures of Adam James and Miranda became my vehicle of escape.  Putting the story to paper came almost two years later and by that time almost every detail had been mapped out in my mind.  The first draft took just four months of writing at night and on weekends. Fifteen drafts later and a year of agonizing editing brought the project to completion.  Circumstances permitting, I would enjoy joining the ranks of those who make their living with the written word but for now I remain a reluctant writer hoping that my cruel muse will remain in hibernation for a little longer.

Who are you reading right now?

 I am a big fan of Patterson, Dan Brown and occasionally Grisham but have opted to spend more time writing than reading for the moment.

 How do you market your books? Which way works best for you?

Marketing the book has been a “learn as you go process” and I feel compelled to offer my compassion to the many aspiring writers who choose this as their full-time gig. Even the best of books may struggle to get noticed in the sea of novels available. I’ve done a little with social media ads and a few book giveaways but found that the most sales come from a friend telling a friend telling a friend…  .  Fortunately that has continued to gain traction.

Where are you from?

I live in Chapel Hill North Carolina and grew up in the neighboring city of Durham where much of my story takes place.

Who are your target readers?

The String Theory is an action thriller first with a romance element and touch of science fiction. Feedback has been very favorable from readers who prefer a variety of genre’s .

 How did you come up with the story idea?

 The foundation of the story came during one summer when I was driving my son to summer camp at Duke University.  He’s always been a fan of my storytelling so I started by using the campus setting and added to the story each day as we drove back and forth. A week letter the premise for the book was done.

Which of the characters is your favorite?

That’s a tough question for a couple of reasons.  Miranda was modeled after my wife who is the love of my life so it’s hard not to pick her. Willie, however, was the most fun to write. Even though he has a secondary role in the first book I expect him to become a larger part of the story in the sequel.

What genre of books do you like to read?

I’ve always enjoyed science fiction and thriller novels.  I especially like those that take  ordinary people and expose them to an out of the ordinary situation.

What are you working on now?

 That is a quandary.  I have the first 10,000 words of the sequel to the String Theory on paper and have that pretty well plotted in my head.  I also started a new book called Broken Souls that is an intriguing challenge as a writer.string theory

 What is your website?

http://www.thestringtheory.us
Buy The String Theory on Amazon.com
and Barnes and Noble

Leave a Reply

