Special Guest Interview – John Phelps author of Visits

John Phelps is the author of a stunning debut novel called Visits, you can read my review here.

john phelps1.- This is your first book, where did the idea for Visits come from?  I honestly don’t know.  Over the years, I’ve had several book ideas; some of which I started writing but never finished.  The idea for Visits just popped into my head one day and eventually turned into a finished book.

2.- What genre is Visits and what is your target market?  Some folks have called it a psychological thriller so I’ll go with that.  I like reading horror, thrillers, some mystery and maybe a little sci-fi.   So my target market is probably the folks who like the same kind of books that I do.

3.- One of the hardest parts of self publishing is the title and cover, you have done an excellent job on both of these, did you have any help or where they solely your idea?  The cover was inspired by several other covers that I’ve seen.  One; All For One by Ryne Douglas Pearson, featured a hazy silhouette against a blueish background.  That cover has since been changed but I still remember the original. And the cover of The Racketeer by John Grisham is similar and also caught my eye.  So when it came time to put together a cover for Visits, I thought of those two covers.  The cover was designed by Karri Klawiter who has put together hundreds of incredible covers.  I gave her my ideas plus a rough outline of the book.  When she sent me the first draft of the cover, I knew I was looking at Tony Lansing.  She did a great job and turned it around quickly.

4.-Are you currently writing another book? If so, can you share a little of it with us?  I’m working on several but making very slow progress.  Visits took over two years to write.  One is similar to Visits but features a female ‘hero’ who will do anything (I do mean ANYTHING) to protect the integrity of her invalid father.  The other features three thirty-something guys, who after a night of heavy drinking, decide to do something about a problem that’s been plaguing their small community.  They soon realize that they’re in over their heads.

5.-  What do you do for a living?  In my day job, I’m the manager of a Software Quality Assurance group.  We test software used by large enterprises to track compliance with various federal, state and local regulations.  I spend between 2-3 hours a day commuting to and from that job so I don’t have a lot of time for writing.

6.-Do you have a favourite place to write, if so where?  I have a home office where I do all my writing.  I use a Windows 7 desktop computer with two monitors and have Led Zeppelin blasting from the speakers.  A refrigerator that I keep well stocked with beer is close by.

visits

Folks can buy my books at Amazon  

and Smashwords

I have a semi-active web site at http://john-phelps.com

2 thoughts on “Special Guest Interview – John Phelps author of Visits

Leave a Reply

