Gone Girl by Gillian Flynn

gone girlThis is one of my multiple review posts with different thoughts on Gone Girl by Gillian Flynn, first comes the blurb for those of you who have no idea what the book is about. Scroll down for the really exciting stuff.

Marriage can be a real killer.

One of the most critically acclaimed suspense writers of our time, New York Times bestseller Gillian Flynn takes that statement to its darkest place in this unputdownable masterpiece about a marriage gone terribly, terribly wrong. The Chicago Tribune proclaimed that her work “draws you in and keeps you reading with the force of a pure but nasty addiction.” Gone Girl’s toxic mix of sharp-edged wit and deliciously chilling prose creates a nerve-fraying thriller that confounds you at every turn.

On a warm summer morning in North Carthage, Missouri, it is Nick and Amy Dunne’s fifth wedding anniversary. Presents are being wrapped and reservations are being made when Nick’s clever and beautiful wife disappears from their rented McMansion on the Mississippi River. Husband-of-the-Year Nick isn’t doing himself any favors with cringe-worthy daydreams about the slope and shape of his wife’s head, but passages from Amy’s diary reveal the alpha-girl perfectionist could have put anyone dangerously on edge.

Under mounting pressure from the police and the media–as well as Amy’s fiercely doting parents–the town golden boy parades an endless series of lies, deceits, and inappropriate behavior. Nick is oddly evasive, and he’s definitely bitter–but is he really a killer?

As the cops close in, every couple in town is soon wondering how well they know the one that they love. With his twin sister, Margo, at his side, Nick stands by his innocence. Trouble is, if Nick didn’t do it, where is that beautiful wife? And what was in that silvery gift box hidden in the back of her bedroom closet?

With her razor-sharp writing and trademark psychological insight, Gillian Flynn delivers a fast-paced, devilishly dark, and ingeniously plotted thriller that confirms her status as one of the hottest writers around.


Bev Eaves Well overall, this book was OK. Enjoyed the start of the book and was hooked but then it seemed to go into too much description of things. I could understand where the writer was coming from but felt that it was dragged out too much. Once I got past the middle bit again I was back to wanting and needing to know what happened.

I could see sometimes where the book was going but then odd bits were thrown in that made me think What?? Some of the style of writing were good in that it had me wondering what was going to happen and how and had me wanting to read more to find out, but other parts I just wanted to give up and forget all out it, as there was that much that just seem to hard to believe sometimes.

For me personally it was an OK book, not one I would rave about but not one that I could recommend 100% to some one who usually likes the same books as me.

I am glad I read it and glad I contiuned with it (even if it did take me nearly a month to read). Overall for me it is a book to cross off my reading list and definetly not one I could read again.


Linda Thomas
Once the book got started, I found it very enjoyable and well written but to be honest nothing out of the ordinary as a thriller.

This book is probably impossible to read without taking sides. Whose side were you on? The characterisations were well put over and really quite believable but although I was initially on his side, by the time it really got going I wanted to bang their heads together.

Helen Gray Was really hard to decide “who’s side ” to be on and to know what was really going on but by the end deffo Nick’s! Was unsure of the ending at first but then decided I liked it. The manipulation continued!

Linda Thomas I was trying to imagine different endings for the book, but the one that was in the book was probably the most likely after a story like that. What are the chances of the child growing up “normal” after a start like that? I wanted Nick to grab the baby and run, but would he have been able to be involved enough to bring it up much better?

Maureen Memo I knew from the beginning that the ‘scene’ had been set out to make it look like an abduction/possible murder, so that made me want to give up already as the plot had been aired much too early. When Amy was highlighting her doings I thought she was far too over the top and would, in reality, have been residing in a lunatic asylum yet she was supposedly living what appeared to be a happy life with a husband who, I must say, has to have be so unobservant to not have seen into her long before this!

Linda Thomas Well, this is part of it, I think. He was too occupied with his own self-absorption to really understand how off-the-wall Amy was.

Maureen Memo I don’t like books where I find myself compelled to choose a side Helen so that put me off and, until well into the story I was waiting for the allusion to the mental institutions each character was locked up in but it never came.

Maureen Memo If we are to believe that she was that crazy, though, how come nobody saw through her as she grew up and matured?

Linda Thomas I think the answers to Nick’s problems were meant to lie in his upbringing, yes, but I didn’t find him dislikeable, more infuriating.

Helen Gray I didn’t feel compelled to choose a side it was just Amy did more awful things that Nick. Nick wasn’t the nicest person either but not quite as manipulative as his scary wife.

Jill Green He was a drip that you just wanted to shake!


Lynn Mcconnachie I’ve got to say, i got into from page one, and, loved it, don´´t usually do award (orb ooks that have been up for awards) as i find there like movies that win Oscars, a let down, but, loved the writing, and, even when it came to the last page there was such a twist,

Grace J Smith I’m now wondering if I missed the twist …??

Helen Gray I wasn’t expecting that she would get away with it all and entrap Nick.

Lynn Mcconnachie That the same as me Helen, wonder if they’ll be a follow up ?

Helen Gray I don’t think there will. I really enjoyed reading this book but don’t think we would want to read more about such a dislike able couple! As others have said, poor child!

Jill Green I didn’t enjoy it to start with, the woman’s diary really annoyed me and I was ready for giving up but got to 50% and it all became clear what she had been up to and I couldn’t put it down. Liked the twist at end but i would have preferred it if he had got his own back on her!


Paula Innes  I struggled to get into this one too, and yes, as so many of you have said, very nearly gave up only continuing because of the book club. I found both the characters annoying and couldn’t understand why they hadn’t split up already. There was no love or respect in their relationship. I couldn’t take sides because I couldn’t really bring myself to care enough. All I can say is I read it, won’t read it again or anything else by this author and the child will probably grow up to be either a serial killer or a politician.


Diane Bon’qui’qui Hirst I too found the book quite hard to get into and probably would have given up if it had not been for the book club. However, I am glad I carried on as I found myself wanting to know what happened.

When the police found Nick’s fingerprints on all the stuff stored in the cabin and it had transpired that Amy had put his fingers on all the items whilst he was in a drugged sleep, I wondered how she did that as I had visions of her lifting up a flat-screened TV in one hand and putting Nick’s fingers on it with the other. I also think the police would have known by forensics if this is how it really happened.

The ending did kind of surprise me because I was convinced that they would probably murder each other. Although Nick was pretty self absorbed, I think he may have changed a bit towards the end of the book. I found myself feeling a mixture of being sorry for him and angry that he would just stay with Amy regardless.

I think I would read another book by this author.

Marie Neve I was disappointed that Nick stayed with Amy I was hoping somehow she would get her comeuppance xx

Linda Thomas I found myself thinking, “Can’t they see what’s going on?” She may have been his ideal woman at the start but I was itching for something bad to happen to her for real

Maureen Memo I found it totally unbelievable that the police didn’t push further and just accepted her story of why she murdered the guy who took her in.

Diane Bon’qui’qui Hirst That is what I felt Maureen…. Maybe the Author thought that would have been a too predictable ending…but… I think everyone likes to see justice done even if it is only a work of fiction.

Maureen Memo The writer needed to do more research into phychiatric conditions, policework and forensics before putting pen to paper to make the storyline at least a little bit believable. As it is now I feel he has failed miserably, for me anyway, in providing me with any incentive to read any more of his work.


Leave a Reply

