Special Book Review – Never Coming Back by Tim Weaver

never coming backHere we are again, at the time of the month where my online book group discusses the book of the month. This month´s choice is Never Coming Back by Tim Weaver. I had never heard of this author before until I was browsing on the Richard and Judy´s book club and I came across their autumn list.

blurb from goodreads.com scroll down for the good stuff

A SECRET THAT WILL CHANGE LIVES FOREVER

It was supposed to be the start of a big night out. But when Emily Kane arrives at her sister Carrie’s house, she finds the front door unlocked and no one inside. Dinner’s cooking, the TV’s on. Carrie, her husband and their two daughters are gone.

When the police draw a blank, Emily asks missing persons investigator David Raker to find them. It’s clear someone doesn’t want the family found.
But as he gets closer to the truth, Raker begins to uncover evidence of a sinister cover-up, spanning decades and costing countless lives And worse, in trying to find Emily’s missing family, he might just have made himself the next target .

Jan Taylor
Never Coming Back, When I first started to read this I must admit I was not impressed. The first two chapters were insipid to say the least.
By chapter 3 things were looking up and the rest of the book was really good.
Reminded me a bit of the Lee Child Jack Reacher books…………………I couldn’t see Tom Cruise as David Raker either.

Grace J Smith
As with many other readers I struggled to get into this book. I wondered if it was because I was quite resistant to the idea of another missing person book so soon after last month’s choice – I tend to mix my reads and don’t stick with a single genre. Or, perhaps it was because I was preoccupied with other things … either way, I seemed to read and read without anything making sense, but I got there in the end and quite liked the character of David Raker, although he did seem a bit fearless at times. When he was walking through the deserted village in the almost dark I kept expecting someone to … well, maybe not exactly ‘jump’ out but certainly to appear! Once we knew that Annabel was his biological daughter I fully expected the girls to turn up alive and by the time they did I had almost given up hope.
In retrospect it was a good read – and yes, I did enjoy it overall but at the time of reading it was mostly a struggle. I would however be happy to read another book with the main protagonist. Probably 4* from me.

Diane Bon’qui’qui Hirs
When I first started to read this i thought “oh no I am really not going to get into this”. I put the book aside and read something else. I did go back to it because I wanted to contribute to the book club.
Not sure what the relevance was with “Healy” as did not think he contributed to the story line at all. I did guess that the mystery was going to be a war criminal of some kind. I think to try and get us to believe that someone tied up would be able to overpower an armed man and then shoot him with a nail gun was stretching the imagination a bit, maybe Raker is a Superhero. Overall I did enjoy the book, there were so many twists and turns. I was really hoping he would find the girls alive but when that bit finally came the book just seemed to end. No real explanation as to where they had been hidden.

Lilian Evans
Well I enjoyed this book….eventually It took a long time to get into, but it was worth the wait Some of the things that happened were a bit OTT and impossible to believe, but aside from that it was a good story with plenty of twists and turns and a good ending….sort of I would read this author again, but not yet as I think I need something a bit more frivolous now xx

Mary Edgley
I am afraid that this is another critical review……..
There were so many strands to the plot that it was a serious challenge to my short-term memory! Clearly a follow on from a previous story, I frequently felt that more explanation was needed because of the impact on the characters (e.g. How had his wife died / what was the connection to Healy and what was his story etc)I am struggling to write more without being more acerbic so stopping now. Did I enjoy ir? Not a lot!

Amanda Robertson-Sayer
When I first started reading this one, I felt very confused, almost like I needed to begin at the beginning of his set of books somehow…but then by the time the first flashback came I was hooked..it was very easy to read, a very exciting storyline and I was proved wrong again and again with all the twists and turns along the way. I didn’t expect the ending either, it bought tears to my eyes. I have now recommended that the OH read this book.

Maureen Memo
The book caught and held my attention from the beginning and I really enjoyed the story. At first I deduced there was an element of foreign involvement but expected it to be more along the russian spy/espionage line so the ending gave it an unexpected twist for me!
I imagined the husband was the spy and the cause of the family’s disappearance but was proved wrong but not too early on in the book.
The addition of the abandoned village was a good touch and added a little mystery to the plot as did the murders but I did pick up on the inference that the rich guy might not be dead due to the position of the ‘body’ therefore hinting his involvement in it all.
All in all an enjoyable read which I could not put down and am glad I read with its twists and turns throwing me off-scent throughout!
Just when I thought l’d sussed it I wad proved wrong again and although I expected the girls to be safe somewhere I did not expect the true identity of the real perpetrator.
Very well thought out and written by an author who has impressed me so much that I’ve bought a couple more of his offerings.

Helen Gray
It took me a little while to get into the book. I felt I was missing out on something because of references to things that had happened in previous books. Think I would have enjoyed this one more if I had read the others but not to sure if I will actually seek them out to read now! Enjoyed all the twists and turns. Thought (hoped!) the girls would be ok but hand’ suspected the older girl’s true parentage until the moment before it was revealed – hopefully a strand of story that will develop in his next book? Have recommended to other half and will be interesting to see what he makes of it!

Leave a Reply

