The Kashmir Shawl by Rosie Thomas

kashmir shawlBlurb from goodreads.com, please scroll down for my review.

Spanning decades and moving from the stark beauty of the Welsh landscape to the Himalayas and Kashmir, this is a story of bravery, courage and love. Within one exotic land lie the secrets of a lifetime! Newlywed Nerys Watkins leaves rural Wales for the first time in her life, to accompany her husband on a missionary posting to India. Travelling from lonely Ladakh, high up in the Himalayas, Nerys discovers a new world in the lakeside city of Srinagar. Here, in the exquisite heart of Kashmir, the British live on carved wooden houseboats and dance, flirt and gossip as if there is no war. Continue reading

Look Behind You by Sibel Hodge

look behind youblurb from goodreads.com, please scroll down for my review.

Chloe Benson wakes up kidnapped and bound in an underground tomb with no memory of how she got there.

She escapes through deserted woods with her life, but no one believes her story.

And when she suspects her husband is lying to her, Chloe is forced to retrace her past, following in her own footsteps to find the truth and stay alive.

But who is following Chloe?

Look Behind You. You never know who’s out there.

Continue reading

Mother, Mother by Koren Zailckas

mother motherblurb from goodreads.com, please scroll down for my review.

Josephine Hurst has her family under control. With two beautiful daughters, a brilliantly intelligent son, a tech-guru of a husband and a historical landmark home, her life is picture perfect. She has everything she wants; all she has to do is keep it that way. But living in this matriarch’s determinedly cheerful, yet subtly controlling domain hasn’t been easy for her family, and when her oldest daughter, Rose, runs off with a mysterious boyfriend, Josephine tightens her grip, gradually turning her flawless home into a darker sort of prison.

Continue reading

The Accident by C.L. Taylor

the accidentblurb from goodreads.com , please scroll down for my review.

The person you trust most may only be telling you half the story …

Fast-paced, suspenseful, this is a book with more twists than a helter-skelter that will keep you reading late into the night. Perfect for fans of Before I Go to Sleep and Gone Girl.

Sue Jackson has the perfect family but when her teenage daughter Charlotte deliberately steps in front of a bus and ends up in a coma she is forced to face a very dark reality.

 Retracing her daughter’s steps she finds a horrifying entry in Charlotte’s diary and is forced to head deep into Charlotte’s private world. In her hunt for evidence, Sue begins to mistrust everyone close to her daughter and she’s forced to look further, into the depths of her own past. Continue reading

Black Chalk by Christopher Yates

black chalkBlurb from goodreads.com, please scroll down for my review. 

It was only ever meant to be a game.

A game of consequences, of silly forfeits, childish dares. A game to be played by six best friends in their first year at Oxford University. But then the game changed: the stakes grew higher and the dares more personal, more humiliating, finally evolving into a vicious struggle with unpredictable and tragic results.

Now, fourteen years later, the remaining players must meet again for the final round.

Continue reading

The Abortionist´s Daughter by Elisabeth Hyde

the abortionists daughterblurb from goodreds.com, please scroll down for my review. 

Two weeks before Christmas, Diana Duprey, an outspoken abortion doctor, is found dead in her swimming pool. A national figure, Diana inspired passion and ignited tempers, but never more so than the day of her death. Her husband Frank, a longtime attorney in the DA’s office; her daughter Megan, a freshman in college; the Reverend Stephen O’Connell, founder of the town’s pro-life coalition: all of them quarreled with Diana that day and each one has something to lose in revealing the truth. Meanwhile the detective on the case struggles for the answers — and finds himself more intimately involved than he ever could have imagined.

Continue reading

Special Offer – This Weekend Only – The Metaxy Project by Layton Green

Metaxy CoverThis is a special weekend (9, 10, 11 of May) for Layton Green, his new book The Metaxy Project has been released. There is a special offer on Amazon, you can get a copy of the book for just 99 cents.  (links below) and there are also links to goodreads, his website and his author site on amazon.

You can also check out my review.
My Review.
I was thrilled to get an email from Layton Green with info on his latest book, The Metaxy Project, a standalone (nothing to do with the Dominic Grey series) and, would I like a copy. Yes, I replied, well there were a few more words than that in the email  of course, I was excited and honoured. A couple of days later, I received my copy. I quickly finished the book I was reading and loaded my new book onto my kindle and started to read. I had no idea what to expect, there was no information on amazon, goodreads, etc but as I am a fan of the Dominic Grey series I knew I  couldn´t go wrong. The book starts out with plenty of background information on Derek, the main character and with some information on other characters also. Written in the first person, with Derek as the narrator, I felt as if he was actually talking to me as if I were part of the book. There flashbacks as you read on, or should I say flash forwards, as the main part of the book is written in the past with the occasional chapter in the present. Then the flashbacks catch up and things make more sense.
As you turn the pages, the characters are developed some more and the story gets mysterious, making you want to turn more pages.
My favourite part is when Derek and Cam visit the LaLaurie Hospital. Nice. The book speeds up towards the end and is difficult to put down. The ending is nicely summed up and is a  well edited book.
Thanks Layton for the chance to read this new book.

http://amzn.com/B00K56RJ6M

Child No. 3 by Phil Martin

child_number_threeblurb from goodreads.com, please scroll down for my review. 

Child No. 3 (Book No. 1 in the Little Girl Lost trilogy)

Having exposed lie after lie told by her foster parents, Amy Walker sets off on a mission of self-discovery to unearth exactly what they have kept buried from the world.

After journeying from her Manchester home to the shanty towns and palaces of Morocco, more untruths lead her back to London and a dark Chechen underworld, where she discovers she was third on a coded, list of stolen children.

As Amy gets closer to unearthing her truth, she disturbs it, alerting the gang to her existence. Her truth will do anything to stay hidden. 

Child No. 3 must be silenced. Little girl lost must never be found.

Continue reading

Before I Go To Sleep by S J Watson

before I go to sleepblurb from goodreads.com, please scroll down for my review. 
As I sleep, my mind will erase everything I did today. I will wake up tomorrow as I did this morning. Thinking I’m still a child. Thinking I have a whole lifetime of choice ahead of me …’ Memories define us. So what if you lost yours every time you went to sleep? Your name, your identity, your past, even the people you love—all forgotten overnight. And the one person you trust may only be telling you half the story. Welcome to Christine’s life.

Continue reading

How To Be A Good Wife by Emma Chapman

how to be a good wifeBlurb from goodreads.com , please scroll down for my review. 
Marta and Hector have been married for a long time. Through the good and bad; through raising a son and sending him off to life after university. So long, in fact, that Marta finds it difficult to remember her life before Hector. He has always taken care of her, and she has always done everything she can to be a good wife—as advised by a dog-eared manual given to her by Hector’s aloof mother on their wedding day.

But now, something is changing. Small things seem off. A flash of movement in the corner of her eye, elapsed moments that she can’t recall. Visions of a blonde girl in the darkness that only Marta can see. Perhaps she is starting to remember—or perhaps her mind is playing tricks on her. As Marta’s visions persist and her reality grows more disjointed, it’s unclear if the danger lies in the world around her, or in Marta herself. The girl is growing more real every day, and she wants something.

Continue reading

Death by Chocolate by Carol Lee

death by chocolateblurb from goodreads.com. please scroll down for my review

Things are brilliant for baker and recently divorced Myra Bailey. Living the typical life in her sleepy little town of Fish Creek Falls she’s finally opened up her dream coffee shop bakery, Dessert First. She is excited things are going so well… until she stumbles over the body of Barbara the owner of the only other bakery in town.

Suddenly Myra finds herself in the middle of a murder investigation (her chocolate cake was found at the scene of the crime!) headed up by her hunky neighbor Detective David Bentley. With the help of her best friend Lizzie, together they are armed with their smart phones and their natural wits, Myra decides to take it upon herself to find the real murderer in order to clear her name and drive customers back to her bakery.

As things heat up on the murder trail, in the kitchen and between Myra and the Detective, it’s a race against time to put the real murderer behind bars and get back to baking.

Continue reading

Special book review – The Apple Tree Yard by Louise Doughty

apple tree yardblurb from goodreads.com, please scroll down for the book club reviews.

Safety and security are commodities you can sell in return for excitement, but you can never buy them back.

Yvonne Carmichael is a geneticist, a scientist renowned in her field but one day, she makes the most irrational of decisions. While she is giving evidence to a Select Committee at the Houses of Parliament, she meets a man and has sex with him in the secluded Chapel in the Crypt. It’s the beginning of a reckless liaison, but there is more to her lover than is at first apparent – as Yvonne discovers when the affair spins out of control and leads inexorably to violence.

Apple Tree Yard is about a woman who makes one rash choice that ends up putting her on trial at the Old Bailey for the most serious of crimes. Like the highly acclaimed Whatever You Love, it is part literary investigation of personal morality, part psychological thriller.

Continue reading