Black Chalk by Christopher Yates

black chalkBlurb from goodreads.com, please scroll down for my review. 

It was only ever meant to be a game.

A game of consequences, of silly forfeits, childish dares. A game to be played by six best friends in their first year at Oxford University. But then the game changed: the stakes grew higher and the dares more personal, more humiliating, finally evolving into a vicious struggle with unpredictable and tragic results.

Now, fourteen years later, the remaining players must meet again for the final round.

The idea of the book of great, a game, with 6 university friends as participants. Unfortunately the book starts off slow and doesn´t really get going much more, I kept reading as I was curious, first of all as to who was the person writing the present part of the book, and then well, just to finish it. I certainly is different, the past is written in the third person and the present is written in the first person and to start off I found this rather irritating. I can´t even say I enjoyed any of the main characters, they are all rather irritating. Way too much time is spent getting drunk, socializing and just general boring storytelling.

I got to around the 60% mark and I went to pick it up again and I thought this book is just awful.  So I deleted it from my kindle and moved on.

Leave a Reply

