Second Captive by Maggie James

second captive

Blurb from goodreads.com, please scroll down for my review.

Stockholm syndrome: the psychological tendency of a hostage to bond with his or her captor.

What happens when you love the man you should hate?

Beth Sutton is eighteen years old when Dominic Perdue abducts her. Held prisoner in a basement, she’s dependent upon him for food, clothes, her very existence. As the months pass, her hatred for him changes to compassion. Beth never allows herself to forget, however, that her captor has killed another woman. She has evidence to prove it, not to mention Dominic’s own admission of murder.

Then Beth escapes…

And discovers Dominic Perdue is not a man who lets go easily. Meanwhile, despite being reunited with her family, she spirals into self-destructive behaviour. Release from her prison isn’t enough, it seems. Can Beth also break free from the clutches of Stockholm syndrome?

A study of emotional dependency, The Second Captive examines how love can assume strange guises.


My Review

I loved this from the beginning to the end, a creepy dark, psychological thriller. It is written in two different parts, during captivity and after, with each being different and very enjoyable, you really get into the captives head during the book. What a creepy guy. This is a very tense book, very well written, paced, there is not a dull moment.
In the second half, Beth´s mum is the other character, I didn´t like her much to start with, as I think the problem was that I had gotten used to Dominic, but she grew on me as the pages turned. This is a very emotional book, during the second part I wanted to scream at Beth just to get on with things, but at the same time I understood why it was difficult. Dominic is a nasty character and the author does a great job of getting that thought to the readers, he is just awful there is no love lost there.
This is a very, very good book, I wondering throughout if I would be able to survive the ordeal, or what I would do in Ursula´s shoes. This is the first book I have read by the author and I will be reading more soon.
Fantastic read.

5stars


maggie jamesAbout the Author
So who is Maggie James? Well, I’m a British author, writing novels that can be best described as psychological suspense fiction. You can find my first novel, His Kidnappers Shoes, published by Orelia Publishing, here, and my second one, Sister Psychopath, here. My third is called Guilty Innocence. My latest novel, The Second Captive, was published on November 24, 2014.

I am fascinated by the workings of the human mind, particularly the darker side of human nature. As my banner says, I aim to explore the shadows of the mind. The initial draft of my first novel, entitled His Kidnapper’s Shoes, was written whilst travelling in Bolivia. I was inspired by an impending milestone birthday, along with a healthy dose of annoyance at having procrastinated for so long in writing a novel. His Kidnapper’s Shoes was published in both paperback and e-book format in 2013, followed by my second novel, entitled Sister, Psychopath. My third novel, Guilty Innocence, like my others, features my home city of Bristol. As does my fourth, The Second Captive.

Before turning my hand to writing, I worked mainly as an accountant, with a diversion into practising as a nutritional therapist. Diet and health remain high on my list of interests, along with travel. Accountancy does not, but then it never did. The urge to pack a bag and go off travelling is always lurking in the background! When not writing, I can be found at the gym, practising yoga, travelling or seeking new four-legged friends to pet; animals are a lifelong love!


Links

https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/23565397-the-second-captive?ac=1

http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00PFQ65SA/ref=x_gr_w_bb?ie=UTF8&tag=httpwwwgoodco-20&linkCode=as2&camp=1789&creative=9325&creativeASIN=B00PFQ65SA&SubscriptionId=1MGPYB6YW3HWK55XCGG2

https://twitter.com/mjamesfiction

http://www.maggiejamesfiction.com/

https://www.facebook.com/MJamesFiction


About the book
File Size: 828 KB
Print Length: 401 pages
Simultaneous Device Usage: Unlimited
Publisher: Orelia Publishing (November 24, 2014)
Sold by: Amazon Digital Services, Inc.
Language: English
ASIN: B00PFQ65SA

Leave a Reply

