The Faerie Tree by Jane Cable

the faerie treeBlurb from goodreads.com, please scroll down for my review

How can a memory so vivid be wrong?

I tried to remember the first time I’d been here and to see the tree through Izzie’s eyes. The oak stood on a rise just above the path; not too tall or wide but graceful and straight, its trunk covered in what I can only describe as offerings – pieces of ribbon, daisy chains, a shell necklace, a tiny doll or two and even an old cuckoo clock.
“Why do people do this?” Izzie asked.
I winked at her. “To say thank you to the fairies.”

In the summer of 1986 Robin and Izzie hold hands under The Faerie Tree and wish for a future together. Within hours tragedy rips their dreams apart.
In the winter of 2006, each carrying their own burden of grief, they stumble back into each other’s lives and try to create a second chance. But why are their memories of 1986 so different? And which one of them is right?
With strong themes of paganism, love and grief, The Faerie Tree is a novel as gripping and unputdownable as Jane Cable’s first book, The Cheesemaker’s House, which won the Suspense & Crime category of The Alan Titchmarsh Show’s People’s Novelist competition. It is a story that will resonate with fans of romance, suspense, and folklore.


My Review

The title makes it sounds that there is going to be a strong magic/mystery theme involving fables but there is little. The book itself has to do with memories and how they can change over time. The faerie tree is central, though, to Robin and Izzie, the two main characters. Robin and Izzie are special in different ways, each with heartbreak, loss and unique memories of the past. They meet again after 20 years and rekindle the relationship. It has it´s sad moments, happy moments, it is an easy read and it kept me going, but it lacked depth. Even though the actual faerie tree doesn´t play much it is an amazing place with decorations, ribbons, letters from people with their wishes and a place of hope for all who visit.

3stars


jane cableAbout the Author

Perhaps writing is in my blood. My father, Mercer Simpson, was a poet; my cousin, Roger Hubank, a novelist; Roger’s uncle, John Hampson was also a novelist and fringe member of the Bloomsbury Group. And it’s even rumoured that John Keats is somewhere back there in the family tree.
No wonder that I have always scribbled. But it took me until I was in my forties to complete a full length manuscript. And then another, and another… Writing stories became a compulsive hobby. I could lose myself in my characters, almost live their lives, and I started to long for readers other than my mother and a few close friends to be able to do the same.
It was reaching the final of The Alan Titchmarsh Show’s People’s Novelist competition in 2011 which made me take my writing seriously. The Cheesemaker’s House, a gripping romance-suspense, saw the light of day in September 2013 and I was delighted when it received great reviews from book bloggers and, just as importantly, from the people who bought and read it. My second novel, The Faerie Tree, is due out in March 2015 and is a suspenseful romance about the tricks memory plays.


Links

https://www.goodreads.com/author/show/7226007.Jane_Cable

http://janecable.com/

https://twitter.com/JaneCable

http://www.amazon.com/gp/search/ref=x_gr_w_bb?keywords=9781784622220&index=books&linkCode=qs&tag=httpwwwgoodco-20


About the Book

  • File Size: 463 KB
  • Print Length: 302 pages
  • Publisher: Matador (March 16, 2015)
  • Sold by: Amazon Digital Services, Inc.
  • Language: English
  • ASIN: B00UTI27AY
Leave a Reply

