Only the Brave (DS Allie Shenton 3) by Mel Sherratt

only the braveBlurb from, please scroll down for my review

When one of the notorious Johnson brothers is murdered and a bag of money goes missing, a deadly game of cat and mouse is set in motion.

DS Allie Shenton and her team are called in to catch the killer, but the suspects are double-crossing each other and Allie has little time to untangle the web of lies.

As she delves deeper into the case, things take a personal turn when Allie realises she is being stalked by the very same person who attacked her sister seventeen years ago and left her for dead.

Set over forty-eight tension-filled hours, Only the Brave is the latest gut-churning book from acclaimed author Mel Sherratt.

My Review

Tight knit communities, secrets, and a fast paced crime that takes places over two days in the life of DS Allie Shenton. There are loads going on in the police procedural novel, the third in the series. I have previous read the second, Follow the Leader, but not the first having missed that when it first came out, You can read this as a stand-alone, but I recommend reading them in the correct order as there are some references to her past and that of her sister which will help with the enjoyment of the book.

Allie is just getting back into the swing of things after some stressful weeks at her sister´s bedside (here are the references to previous novels) and her team must find the person who committed murder and on one side and on the other side there is a bunch of missing money, well, not missing for the reader as we know exactly where it is, but for the person wanting his money back. This add to the mystery and suspense. The personal problems that Allie goes through gives her a very human side and I enjoy that part. I particularly like Mark´s character, Allie´s husband, even though he only has a sideline part, he is integral and clearly care for his wife and her safety.

Looking forward to more from Mel Sherratt and Allie Shenton.


mel sherrattAbout the Author

I write crime, psychological thrillers and suspense – or grit-lit, as I call it. Shortlisted for the prestigious CWA (Crime Writer’s Association) Dagger in Library Award 2014, my inspiration comes from authors such as Martina Cole, Lynda la Plante, Mandasue Heller and Elizabeth Haynes.
TAUNTING THE DEAD is part police procedural/part psychological thriller. It has been a standalone for two years but I am now writing two more books with Detective Sergeant Allie Shenton as a main character and creating a new series. FOLLOW THE LEADER will be out in February 2015 and ONLY THE BRAVE in Summer 2015.
THE ESTATE SERIES are a mix of women’s fiction, psychological suspense and crime thriller. They are too dark for women’s fiction alone – although the subject matters and issues are often referred to in this genre – too light in places for crime thrillers, and often not enough for the psychological suspense readers out there. They are drama meets crime. WATCHING OVER YOU is a standalone psychological thriller. It’s dark in places, light in places, disturbing in places too – where obsession and friendship turns to murder.
I live in Stoke-on-Trent, Staffordshire, with my husband and terrier, Dexter (named after the TV serial killer) and makes liberal use of my hometown as a backdrop for some of my books.


About the Book

  • File Size: 2125 KB
  • Print Length: 353 pages
  • Page Numbers Source ISBN: 1477830626
  • Publisher: Thomas & Mercer (May 26, 2015)
  • Sold by: Amazon Digital Services, Inc.
  • Language: English
  • ASIN: B00R6S23Q8

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s