Good Me, Bad Me by Ali Land

good me bad me by ali land.jpg

NEW N A M E .
NEW F A M I L Y.
S H I N Y.
NEW.
ME . ‘

Annie’s mother is a serial killer.

The only way she can make it stop is to hand her in to the police.

But out of sight is not out of mind.

As her mother’s trial looms, the secrets of her past won’t let Annie sleep, even with a new foster family and name – Milly.

A fresh start. Now, surely, she can be whoever she wants to be.

But Milly’s mother is a serial killer. And blood is thicker than water.

Good me, bad me.

She is, after all, her mother’s daughter

 


My Review

A bit slow and to add to that the audio I listened to was also slow, I had to change the settings to speed it up a bit, but I did enjoy the narrator once I had gotten used to her.  This is the author’s first book and it is a good first book, I can imagine that from here things can only get better. The book does get better as you move on, but I did find it a little predictable, unfortunately. The book covers some disturbing facts of life, a young girl being abused by her mother, not that you actually read any of that in the book but you obviously know, but what I did love about it was that is was certainly different, and by that I mean young daughter denouncing her own mother, that was brilliant. The fact that I finished it does award it with three stars.

The book is written from the eyes of Millie, with a few moments when her mother pops into her head, as I listed to the audio version this was very good.

 

3stars


ali landAbout the author

After graduating from university with a degree in Mental Health, Ali Land spent a decade working as a Child and Adolescent Mental Health Nurse in both hospitals and schools in the UK and Australia. Ali is now a full-time writer and lives in West London.

 

 

 


Links

https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/25365530-good-me-bad-me

 

 


Leave a Reply

