The Silent Wife by Kerry Fisher

 

the silent wife by kerry fisher.jpgblurb from goodreads.com

Would you risk everything for the man you loved? Even if you knew he’d done something terrible?

Lara’s life looks perfect on the surface. Gorgeous doting husband Massimo, sweet little son Sandro and the perfect home. Lara knows something about Massimo. Something she can’t tell anyone else or everything Massimo has worked so hard for will be destroyed: his job, their reputation, their son. This secret is keeping Lara a prisoner in her marriage.

Maggie is married to Massimo’s brother Nico and lives with him and her troubled stepdaughter. She knows all of Nico’s darkest secrets – or so she thinks. The one day she discovers a letter in the attic which reveals a shocking secret about Nico’s first wife Caitlin. Will Maggie set the record straight or keep silent to protect those she loves?

For a family held together by lies, the truth will come at a devastating price.

A heart-wrenching, emotionally gripping read for fans of Amanda Prowse, Liane Moriarty and Diane Chamberlain.

This book was previously titled The Secrets of Second Wives


My Review

I really enjoyed this fiction book, so different from what I normally read, crimes, thrillers, etc and thanks for the audio book review copy.

This is family drama at it’s best with some suspenseful moments, do you really know your husband? and their family, Maggie who is married to Nico, who has a daughter, slowly finds out what really went on with Nico’s late wife, and boy, it is good and surprising. The details are reveled just at the right time with Nico, Maggie and the in laws getting together from time to time, and the mother in law, who walks into their home when ever she wants, nightmare……

The book is written from two different view points, Maggie, wife of Nico and Lara, wife of Massimo, (Nico’s brother) and goes from chapter to chapter each one. Lara and Maggie have married into a typical Italian family and they have to accept certain things are the way they are and that is that. That itself is tough, but when the secrets start to come out, it gets even tougher.

4stars


 

kerry fisher

I write funny, honest books about ordinary women and family life. When I’m not doing that, I can be seen haring across the Surrey hills trying to stop my lab/schnauzer eating other people’s picnics or running off with their kites. Or helping my teenage son think back to when he might last have seen his rugby shorts. Or explaining to my daughter that I can help with English, Latin and Spanish but art, technology or, ugh, sewing, she’s on her own. Or telling my very tolerant husband that the dog needs organic chicken because she’s got a sensitive stomach but could he make do with an omelette?

But I wasn’t always a writer. Once I left my hometown of Peterborough to go to university in Bath, I got the travel bug and have never recovered. I was an English teacher in Spain and Corsica, a holiday rep in Tuscany, a PA in an art school in Florence, a guidebook researcher and author, travel journalist. Horizons, broad, exciting, unknown and promising were what inspired me. Nothing thrilled or terrified me quite as much as landing in a foreign country with a whole new territory to discover.

And then the children arrived…and with them disappeared the days of elephant riding in Thailand, testing new theme park rides in America and abseiling down the highest tower in Rotterdam.  So I had to find new ways of exploring far-flung lands. After working as a book reviewer for Candis magazine, I realised fiction was the way to keep that sense of anticipation and excitement alive.


Links

https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/33225794-the-silent-wife

twitter  kerryfswayne

http://www.kerryfisherauthor.com

 


Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s