Lost Daughter by Ali Mercer

Blurb from goodreads.com, please scroll down for my review

Your life isn’t perfect, but you’re still happy. Your husband has stuck by you and he’s a good dad. Your daughter Becca makes your heart explode with love.

And then, in the time it takes to say ‘bad mother’, there’s no longer a place for you in your own family. Your right to see your child has disappeared.

Life goes on in your house – family dinners, missing socks and evening baths – but you aren’t there anymore. Becca may be tucked up in bed in Rose Cottage, but she is as lost to you as if she had been snatched from under your nose.

Everyone knows you deserve this, for you what you did. Except you’re starting to realize that things maybe aren’t how you thought they were, and your husband isn’t who you thought he was either. That the truths you’ve been so diligently punishing yourself for are built on sand, and the daughter you have lost has been unfairly taken from you. Wouldn’t that be more than any mother could bear?

A heart-wrenchingly emotional drama for fans of Lisa Wingate, Jill Childs, and Jodi Picoult. 


My Review

The book is well written, with good character development but I found it wasn’t for me although it was decent enough to finish. I though there were parts that didn’t quite make sense, I didn’t enjoy that it took too long to find out what Rachel did that had such an impact on her and her family’s life, for example. I also found the cover misleading as it shows a little girl, not a teenager. There are some emotional parts in the book but not enough to make you cry, it is not as thrilling as I thought is would be . There are parts which I found to be confusing as they flash back and don’t always seem to make sense.

Although I only give this book 3 stars, I would give this author another go in the future

About the author

Ali decided she wanted to be a writer early on and wrote her first novel when she was at primary school. She did an English degree and spent her early twenties working in various jobs in journalism, including as a reporter for the showbusiness newspaper The Stage. She started writing fiction in earnest after getting married, moving out of London to the Oxfordshire market town of Abingdon and starting a family. She has two children, a daughter and a son who is autistic and was diagnosed when he was four years old.
Ali is fascinated by families, their myths and secrets, and the forces that hold them together, split them up and (sometimes) bring them back together again. She always travels with tissues and a book and has been known to cry over a good story, but is also a big fan of the hopeful ending.

Links

https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/44017279-lost-daughter

follow Ali on Twitter (@AlisonLMercer)

Instagram (@alimercerwriter),

Facebook page (AliMercerwriter).

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s