Eeny Meeny by MJ Arlidge

eeny meenyBlurb from goodreads.com, please scroll down for my review.
They were going to spend the rest of their lives together. Soul mates. But when a young couple wakes up alone together, disoriented and trapped, they are yet to grasp the true horror of their situation. They have no food, no water. Instead there is a gun loaded with a single bullet and a mobile phone with enough power only to deliver a short message: ‘when one of you kills the other, the survivor will walk free’. For their captor it’s simple: set the scene, watch, wait and leave the victims to do the killing. Tortured by fear, desperation, starvation and thirst, there’s only one way to end their ordeal: one of them must die.

DI Helen Grace and her team know they are hunting a complex predator whose broken survivors must endure their role as living calling cards. And killers. The victims – work colleagues, a mother and daughter, a pair of dancers – appear to be chosen at random and yet the planning is meticulous.

Continue reading

Line of Succession – The Price of Power by Michael Vandor

Kline of succesionindle Edition, 241 pages
Published March 1st 2014 by Amazon Kindle Direct Publishing
ASIN
B00HFHKK1K
edition language
English

Blurb from goodreads.com, please scroll down for my review.

Charismatic Vice President of the United States Kathleen Canfield has made history through her election. Beautiful, full of vigor and wit, she has been anointed by the media as “the female JFK”. However, as events propel her to the edge of the presidency, elements in the government set in motion plans to ensure that she never reaches the Oval Office. Continue reading

Before Nightfall by Rachel Amphlett

before nightfallBefore Nightfall by Rachel Amphlett
Paperback, 404 pages
Published June 5th 2014 by N/A
ISBN: 0992268524 (ISBN13: 9780992268527)


Blurb from goodreads.com, please scroll down for my review.

Kate Foster is quick to forget the advice from a pre-deployment hostage survival course once she’s catapulted into a new job in Eastern Europe, despite the good-looking instructor. But a simple day’s task in Istanbul six months later goes horribly wrong.

Continue reading

The Accident by C.L. Taylor

the accidentblurb from goodreads.com , please scroll down for my review.

The person you trust most may only be telling you half the story …

Fast-paced, suspenseful, this is a book with more twists than a helter-skelter that will keep you reading late into the night. Perfect for fans of Before I Go to Sleep and Gone Girl.

Sue Jackson has the perfect family but when her teenage daughter Charlotte deliberately steps in front of a bus and ends up in a coma she is forced to face a very dark reality.

 Retracing her daughter’s steps she finds a horrifying entry in Charlotte’s diary and is forced to head deep into Charlotte’s private world. In her hunt for evidence, Sue begins to mistrust everyone close to her daughter and she’s forced to look further, into the depths of her own past. Continue reading

Child No. 3 by Phil Martin

child_number_threeblurb from goodreads.com, please scroll down for my review. 

Child No. 3 (Book No. 1 in the Little Girl Lost trilogy)

Having exposed lie after lie told by her foster parents, Amy Walker sets off on a mission of self-discovery to unearth exactly what they have kept buried from the world.

After journeying from her Manchester home to the shanty towns and palaces of Morocco, more untruths lead her back to London and a dark Chechen underworld, where she discovers she was third on a coded, list of stolen children.

As Amy gets closer to unearthing her truth, she disturbs it, alerting the gang to her existence. Her truth will do anything to stay hidden. 

Child No. 3 must be silenced. Little girl lost must never be found.

Continue reading

Thieves of Heaven, Thieves of Faith, Thieves of Darkness & Thieves of Legend by Richard Doetsch

thieves of heaventhieves of faiththieves of legendthieves of darkness

 

 

 

 

 

I have a special review today for the 4 books in the Michael St Pierre series by Richard Doetsch so no blurb, if you want to see the blurb for each book click on the goodreads link. https://www.goodreads.com/series/62539-michael-st-pierre

Richard Doetsch has written four books so far in the series, I say so far, because I am hoping there will be more.

Continue reading

Half past Dawn by Richard Doetsch

half past dawnblurb from goodreads.com please scroll down for my review.

Between life and death, between the deepest dark of night and the first rays of dawn, in that moment where we begin to drift from sleep to wakefulness, is where anything is possible . . .

Jack Keeler wakes up one bright June morning to the shock of his life. He gazes in the mirror and sees a half-healed gash over his right eye and a hastily stitched-together wound in his shoulder that looks suspiciously like the result of a bullet. He also notices an intricately designed tattoo—words written in a foreign script—covering the length of his forearm. He’s alone, his house eerily silent without the delightful chatter of his wife and two daughters. He has absolutely no memory of how, when, or why he ended up in such gruesome physical condition.

Jack gropes his way down to the kitchen to call his wife, Mia—an FBI agent—and to find some answers. But before he can pick up the phone, his eyes are drawn to the front page of that morning’s paper. He takes in a large photo of a bridge, the guard rail missing, a skein of tire marks on the roadway. Above the photo, in large black type, a headline that simply reads NEW YORK CITY DISTRICT ATTORNEY JACK KEELER DEAD.

Continue reading

Irene by Pierre LaMaitre

Blurbirene from goodreads.com, please scroll down for my review. 

For Commandant Verhoeven life is beautiful: he is happily married, expecting his first child with the lovely Irène.

But his blissful existence is punctured by a murder of unprecedented savagery. Worse still, the press seem to have it in for him – his every move is headline news. When he discovers that the killer has killed before – that each murder is a homage to a classic crime novel – the fourth estate are quick to coin a nickname… The Novelist…

With both men in the public eye, the case develops into a personal duel, each hell-bent on outsmarting the other. There can only be one winner – whoever has the least to lose.

Continue reading

Before you die by Samantha Hayes

before you dieblurb from goodreads.com please scroll down for my review. 

The gripping new psychological suspense novel from the author of Until You’re Mine. 
Oh God, please don’t let me die.
It has taken nearly two years for the Warwickshire village of Radcote to put a spate of teenage suicides behind it.
Then a young man is killed in a freak motorbike accident, and a suicide note is found among his belongings. A second homeless boy takes his own life, this time on the railway tracks.
Is history about to repeat itself?
DI Lorraine Fisher has just arrived for a relaxing summer break with her sister. Soon she finds herself caught up in the resulting police enquiry. And when her nephew disappears she knows she must act quickly.Are the recent deaths suicide – or murder?
And is the nightmare beginning again? Continue reading

The Accident by Chris Pavone

 

the accidentblurb from goodreads.com please scroll down for my review. 

From the author of the New York Times-bestselling and Edgar Award-winning The Expats
 
As dawn approaches in New York, literary agent Isabel Reed is turning the final pages of a mysterious, anonymous manuscript, racing through the explosive revelations about powerful people, as well as long-hidden secrets about her own past. In Copenhagen, veteran CIA operative Hayden Gray, determined that this sweeping story be buried, is suddenly staring down the barrel of an unexpected gun. And in Zurich, the author himself is hiding in a shadowy expat life, trying to atone for a lifetime’s worth of lies and betrayals with publication of The Accident, while always looking over his shoulder. Continue reading